

CAMPUS NEWS

Federal University of Technology, MInna

No. 845

Tel:+08037276484, 08036537032 Email: info@futminna.edu.ng Facebook: Futminna InfoUnit Twitter: @info@futminna.edu.ng

PRESS STATEMENT ON THE APPOINTMENT OF PROF. FAROUK ADAMU KUTA AS THE 8TH VICE-CHANCELLOR, FEDERAL UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY, MINNA

n accordance with the guidelines contained in Decree 11 of 1993 the established the Federal University of Technology, Minna as amended by Act 25 of 1996 and further amended by the universities (Miscellaneous Provisions) Amendment Act 2003 for the selection of Vice-Chancellor, the Governing Council of the University in her 151st (Special) Meeting held on 22nd September, 2022 appointed Prof. Farouk Adamu Kuta as the 8th Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of technology, Minna with effect from 3rd December, 2022 for a single term of 5 years.

Following a widely publicized advertisement, 20 candidates applied for the position and two candidates were sourced from the Search Team. Out of the 22 candidates 13 were shortlisted for further interaction after a screening process.

After a due process that included health examination, ICT examination, due security screening and interview, three candidate with the highest scores were recommended to the Governing council by the Selection Board according to law.

Based on the performance of the candidates, the Board's overall assessment and the provision of the law which requires the Selection Board to recommend to Council three (3) candidate for further consideration and selection, the following names in the order of performance, were recommended to council for consideration and appointment of a new Vice-Chancellor.

1st Prof. Farouk Adamu Kuta - 85.90% 2nd Prof. Kazeem A. Adebiyi - 68.40% 3rd Prof. Kasim Uthman Isah - 64.10%

The Council unanimously chose the candidate with the highest score of 85.90%, Prof. Farouk Adamu Kuta as the 8th Vice-Chancellor.

The Governing Council wishes Prof. Kuta a successful tenure in office. Signed.

Prof. Olu Obafemi, NNOM,

Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council